Who will represent us?

Division 4 candidates Ken Chancellor and Jennifer Sanders
Division 4 candidates Ken Chancellor and Jennifer Sanders

MOST Beaudesert voters will have two choices when they head to the polls at the March 16 Local Government Elections for Scenic Rim: Jennifer Sanders or Ken Chancellor.

The Division Four candidates were announced in that order at the ballot draw, performed by Returning Officer for Scenic Rim, Leonie Walsh in Beaudesert on February 14.

Division Four includes most of Beaudesert and Gleneagle and also extends to other localities including Kooralbyn and Bromelton.  

Jennifer Sanders served as Division Four Councillor at Scenic Rim Regional Council from 2012 to 2016, contested Division Four against Cr Michael Enright in 2016 and 2020 and also contested the Division One by-election on Tamborine Mountain last year.

She also worked at Logan City Council and the former Beaudesert Shire Council, has held several director and board roles and has worked for an insurance company.

Ken Chancellor has worked in real estate, property management and office management and is a mortgage broker.

He has served as a Scout Group Leader and in the Australian Army.

Incumbent Division Four Cr Enright will not contest the division after recently announcing his retirement.

In Division Two, which includes some parts of Beaudesert and Gleneagle as well as other localities between Beaudesert and Tamborine, voters have a choice between Nicole Thompson and Kerri Cryer.

Incumbent Division Two Cr Jeff McConnell will not contest the division because he is running for Mayor.

Division Three, which includes Kerry and parts of Beaudesert and localities extending to Canungra and Beechmont, will be represented by uncontested candidate Steve Moriarty.

Long-serving Division Three incumbent Cr Virginia West recently announced she will not contest the division.

In Division Five, which includes localities south-west of Beaudesert like Rathdowney, Running Creek and Barney View, voters will have a choice between incumbent Marshall Chalk and Leanne Bartrim.

For Mayor, voters will have a choice between incumbent Greg Christensen, Tom Sharp and Jeff McConnell.

The Beaudesert Chamber of Commerce will host a Meet the Candidates Night at 5pm for 5.30pm on February 26 at The Club, Beaudesert.

Mayoral candidates and candidates for Divisions Two, Three and Four will be invited to speak and written questions will be collected from the audience to be answered on the night. 

SRM Print

About Susie Cunningham 0 Articles
Journalist telling the stories of where I live. I love living and working in Beaudesert and when I'm not working you'll see me walking the dogs with my husband Zac.