Cricketers Take Premiership

Beaudesert Premiership Cricket Team

Beaudesert cricketers topped the ladder in two divisions, with great results for the Club this Season. In the Seniors Division One, a hard-fought season to keep on top of the ladder paid off for Beaudesert after the Grand Final was cancelled due to wet weather.

This allowed the Beaudesert team to take the minor Premiership and Premiership. Beaudesert Stage 3B took to the field against Springwood Suns at Everdell Park in the Grand Final. Beaudesert won the toss and elected to bowl first on a well grassed and heavily dewed outfield. Ben Stanley led the way with the new ball with fine figures of 3/9. Tight lines and lengths and a willingness in the field made run-scoring very difficult for Springwood throughout their innings.

Wickets went to Bryce Teese, Seb Potts and Robert McClure and a classy runout from Tye Oppermann helped restrict Springwood to 7/82 from their 30 overs. Springwood took to the field and a couple of fired-up quicks soon ripped through the Beaudesert top order to have them struggling at 3/7. Jack Dennis and Clancy Hardy dug in under pressure to combine for a 40 run partnership just when it was needed. Springwood struck back again removing both Jack and Clancy (32) quickly and at 5/50 it was still anyone’s game. Skipper Isabelle Hardy and Kye Condrick then combined, taking the score to 72 and Beaudesert looked safe. However, Springwood refused to lay down and with the removal of Isabelle (15) and two more quick wickets Beauy had lost three for none and at 8/72 the crowd was on the edge of their seats.

The tension grew as Kye and Bryce fought for every run and under some immense pressure they managed to grind out the winning runs to get Beaudesert home and claim the Premiership.

SRM Print

About Keer Moriarty 471 Articles
Small town newspaper Editor, journo, social media manager and tea lady.