Be Brave Enough to Take Opportunities

Beaudesert State High School Principal Grant Stephensen with Principal’s Award recipients.
Beaudesert State High School Principal Grant Stephensen with Principal’s Award recipients.

The achievements of Beaudesert State High School students were celebrated in a ceremony recognising outstanding results in the face of adversity.

The graduating Year 12 students completed their schooling during the two years of a world wide pandemic, adding lockdowns and COVID restrictions to the already stressful final years of school.

Former student and guest speaker, Dr Scott Walker, believes no one knows what they are going to do when they finish Year 12.  

He described his journey through a four year physiotherapy degree and, after working as a physiotherapist for one month, realising it was not what he was passionate about.

“Be brave enough to take advantage of opportunities when they do present themselves, but flexible enough to take them even if they weren’t part of the original path,” he said.

He urged the students to surround themselves with people who would support them in ongoing learning in life.

The valedictory speech was given by School Captain Harper Tinsley, who said the years had flown by, but not without leaving lasting memories.

Beaudesert State High School Awards 2021:

Principal’s Award

Luke Bice, Bethany Cocks, Mason Conelius, Rebecca Fillery, Elyssa Finlay, Samantha Hurley, Lachlan Hurley, Casey Johnston, Caitlin King, Emily Moore, Jorja Morgan, Zane Benstead, Tenaya Cameron, Lorna-May Johns, Lilly Wilcox, Hannah Wilson, Isabella Cahill, Brooklyn-Jade Senhenn.

Regional Director’s Award

Bethany Cocks, Samantha Hurley, Caitlin King, Ruby Payne, Zoey Stewart, Harper Tinsley, Hannah Wilson, Lorna-May Johns, Isabella Cahill.

Debating Award

Abigail Wynne

Instrumental Music Award

QATSIF Young Indigenous Leader
Award presented to Kaleb Abel and
Connor Brooks by Aunty Janis Page.

Bell Goubaud – Band

Casey Johnston – Strings

Mununjali Award for Academic Achievement – Junior

Kobi Duroux

Mununjali Award for Academic Achievement – Senior

Chloe Hall

QATSIF Young Indigenous Leader Award

Kaleb Abel and Connor Brooks

The Lion Eddie Atherton Junior Cattle Handling Award

Jeremy Conlon

School Based Apprentices and Traineeships – Encouragement Award

Alaysha Hurd

School Based Trainee of the Year

Elly-May Gerard

School Based Apprentice of the Year

Sam Windsor

Beaudesert RSL Vocational Education Award

Benjamin Ayling

Fleur Enright Memorial Award for Drama

Kaleb Abel

Julia Lane Memorial Trophy and Senior Arts Bursary

Joanne Pacey

Head of House Award

Bethany Cocks

House Cup


The Les Dahtler Memorial Trophy for Junior Sports Star of the Year Award

Kiarni Daniel

Scenic Rim Junior Sports Excellence Mayoral Award

Ryan Sutcliffe

Daniel Daw Memorial Award for School Sportsmanship

Fraser Tilney

Sportswoman of the Year Award

Ashley Glennie

W G Day Memorial Trophy for Sportsman of the Year Award

Fletcher Pearce

Scenic Rim Council, Eagle Spirit Award

Zoey Stewart received the BSHS P&C
Dux of BSHS 2021 and University of
Southern Queensland Excellence Award.

Jayden Bartlett

Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award

Corey Foley

Australian Defence Force Future Innovators

Rachel Whittington

Gelita Senior Science Award

Rachel Whittington

The Bryan Durham School Spirit Award

Jack Anning

Dr Peter Landsberg Award

Luke Boss

The Jim Enright Memorial Trophy and Ampol Award for all round Performance

Rachel Russell

BSHS P&C Dux of BSHS 2021 and University of Southern Queensland Excellence Award

Zoey Stewart

P&C Bursary for Year 12, 2020 Top Overall ATAR Score

James Plunkett

Jon Krause – Advertisement

SRM Print

About Keer Moriarty 481 Articles
Small town newspaper Editor, journo, social media manager and tea lady.